Web Analytics

Those were the days when Yahoo was ruling the email industry along with a few big names like Hotmail, AOL, and latter Gmail. Nowadays many new web-service providers are in the game.

At present Google’s Gmail is dominating the industry like never before. Many users are fed up with Yahoo mainly because it has not changed its look and features since long.

If your Yahoo! Mail inbox has been filled by marketing and promotional mails, or if you simply want to consolidate your email accounts, then you may want to delete your Yahoo account. There might be other reasons as well, but most of them wish to delete their account forever.

The problem now is how to delete Yahoo account? Deleting the account is very easy, and you don’t need to be an IT expert to do this

What Does It Mean to Delete a Yahoo Account?

Deleting a Yahoo account not only means that your emails will be removed and you will also lose access to your account, but you will even no longer have access to your My Yahoo settings as well as your Flickr account and photos and other data stored in Yahoo’s services.

If you’re paid customer of any Yahoo subscription services, don’t forget to cancel these subscriptions first to avoid unexpected payments. If you have a Flickr Pro membership, same applies to that too.

Closing your Yahoo account is not going to cancel automatic charges associated with your account. Once your Yahoo account is closed, anyone trying to send a message to that email address will immediately receive a delivery failure message. To avoid confusion and concern don’t forget to tell your contacts that you are going to close your Yahoo.

Once you’re 100% sure that you want to proceed with this irreversible process of account deletion, all you have to do is follow the following steps.

HOW TO DELETE YAHOO ACCOUNT?

If you want to say Goodbye to Yahoo platform for any reason, you may permanently delete your account with Yahoo. Instant deletion is not possible.

Though you may initially deactivate the account that takes some days to get closed permanently, don’t forget to take your time before saying goodbye to the popular web-service.

Once your account is closed, you would neither be able to reactivate it in future nor can you access your information that you’ve added to your account.

DEACTIVATION VS DELETION

You can only deactivate your account instantly by requesting for ‘termination’ of your account. Before moving towards the termination of your Yahoo account, you should know about deactivation.

Deactivation is a temporary closure of your account. In this case, you may opt to reactivate your account within specified days. The days vary from country to country.

Generally, an account gets reactivated when you sign into it within 40 days of closing it. The period is longer if your account is registered in Australia or New Zealand (90 days), and Brazil or Taiwan (180 days).

During this cooling period, all your information is only hidden; it is not deleted. Post-deactivation period your account will be terminated permanently.

Precautions:

  • Before making a move to close (deactivate first) your account, it is advisable to delete your personal information.
  • After the deactivation of account, you won’t be able to edit or remove your information; it is advisable to take copies of your emails, files, and contacts.
  • During the deactivation period, sign in with your email address won’t be possible and you won’t be able to change your password. So keep a record of your password. If you have forgotten/lost your password, then first recover it from Yahoo before proceeding to close your account. If you change your mind to reactivate the account, It will be required.
  • If you are closing a child or family account then before closing the parent account, you need to close all child accounts
  • Do you use your Yahoo account on any third-party websites? You are advised to remove your Yahoo account from all third-party websites where you’ve used yahoo ID (like Facebook, Pinterest, etc). You can do this on the “Accounts” screen in the “Settings” accessed from the gear icon in Yahoo Mail.

Procedure to Delete Yahoo Account

Step #1. First, open any web browser on your computer or Smartphone and move over to the Terminating Yahoo account page.

Step #2. Now Enter your Yahoo Email ID and password to sign in to your account.

Step #3. Next, you may need to enter the password again for confirmation of your identity.

Step #4. After this, you have to type in the CAPTCHA code.

Step #5. Finally, click on YES to delete your Yahoo! account. Now you will see a confirmation page.

So Now your Yahoo account is Deleted!

What happens when I close my Yahoo account?

When you close your account, the following happens:

All of your personal information, data, and settings are deleted across the Yahoo network. Your Yahoo Mail account, Emails, and attachments are deleted. Your Flickr account and media get deleted. You lose your Yahoo ID and Profile names.

Paid services associated with your Yahoo ID are terminated. Access to other data in Yahoo services is lost, including the contents of your HotJobs, Small Business, GeoCities, Briefcase, My Yahoo and more.

Additionally, your contacts can still email your closed account for up to 90 days without getting a delivery error even though you can no longer access the emails.

Keep in mind

Before feeling a sigh of relief for successfully closing your Yahoo account, keep the following things in mind:

Your email address may be taken by someone else

Once your yahoo account is deleted, the address that you previously had can be allotted to anyone who is signing up for a new account. If you change your mind and want to resume using your account, you might find out that the address is no longer available.

Besides that, having a new owner for an email address that was previously owned by you can cause all sorts of problems.

Before deleting your account, don’t forget to change different registrations that might be associated with that address.

You can reactivate your account

Deletion of your Yahoo account isn’t an instant thing. The deactivation of the account is, but the termination isn’t.

If you log into your Yahoo account within 40 days from deleting it, you still have a chance to retrieve your data and email address. Since it wasn’t deleted, others can’t sign up for it just yet.

If you wish to reactivate your closed Yahoo account, it can be done via the standard login page. Just type in your login information and sign in like you usually do.

Write A Comment